Bigger On The Inside

It’s true of Doctor Who. And it’s something wrestlers find to be true, too, even if your philosophical bent doesn’t bend you towards Christian thought:

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it…” (Mt 7:22).

What you do, most kids your age not only don’t do, they don’t understand it and want little to do with it. Wrestling is a path to life through the narrow gate. It’s difficult in ways I can’t even express but only you know. It’s the only 24-7 sport in high school, and many of you live it 24-7-365. And yet, it promises, upon entry, a world that is so very much larger than drills, live-gos, riding the buses to ANOTHER tournament, and so on.

When I started this thing, I just saw it as stories and results and a way for me to stay involved. What it’s done — and what I am reminded of on so many occasions, and was again yesterday — is so much more than the content it contains. More than the rankings (and the predictions!) it gets wrong.

This is a community. A clan. A tribe.

A family.

It’s why my heart is ripped open today for the following kids:

In 1A…Dean Lowe…Alex Cao…Jason Griffis…Gray Creed…Hunter Royce…Avery Samples…Caleb Steinmetz…Joseph Phelts…Corey Paine…Rossie Williams.

In 2A…Robert Sheridan…Justin Trinh…Jeremiah Watson…Daniel Pigg…David Tyer…Steven Stanton…Logan Womack.

In 3A…Blake Delapaz…Erik Kverneland…Chris Shauman…Alex Barie.

These kids are seniors who didn’t win their last high school match in the blood round on Saturday. I could be wrong, but I think at most three of them have been to states before. The rest never did get there. They sacrificed their time, their sweat and their blood.

I’ll get to the accomplishments shortly. But I want to let this one go first. Wrestling is so brutal. And so beloved.

For the same reasons.

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Bigger On The Inside
  1. Dean Lowe says:

    I’ve kept up with this site since around the time it began and I’ll continue to do so even though I no longer compete at the high school level, but I just want to say thank you for sacrificing your time and remaining so dedicated to providing the great material you do. It means more to us wrestlers the. You may realize. Keep up the great work and I hope this site prospers and continues to grow every day. -Dean Lowe

Leave a Reply

