Duals tournaments — Scoresheets

Whether out of season or in season, I depend greatly upon the good will of the host of a duals tournament event to host me, to put up with my constant questions and my flat-out nagging, at times, so that I can bring you all the most complete results there are available.

Last night, even before I had all six rounds complete from Clay’s duals event, I was getting correction requests. While they’re all legitimate requests in the eyes of those making them, I have to re-remind of the following realities of life:

  1. Nobody manning the tables at a duals event is a professional. Not even at states. And neither am I.
  2. There is almost no amount of preparation a host can give table workers, such as scorers, that can make those scorers aware of all of the possible things that they will need to know. This is particularly true of an off-season event when there are kids from other schools that are acting as free agents for another, perhaps multiple, teams.

This happens at every single duals tournament event I cover. Every. Single. One. None that I have covered in the past 3 years has been immune. Last year, finally, we actually started learning about them. We created the policy where the coach needed to get with the event administrator in order to get the change made. It’s not perfect, but I don’t know of many workarounds that are.

I can’t make corrections for two weeks as things get discovered, and I’d sure like not to have to make corrections while putting the results is still an in-process situation, either — getting yesterday’s results out, with fixes included, cost me a good 60-90 minutes, at a very bad time of the day to give up those minutes.

At some point, the perfect becomes the enemy of the good.

Things are going to be incorrect. Wrong spelling, wrong kid, wrong team, wrong pin time, wrong team points given for a dual result.

If you have suggestions on how to fix this so this doesn’t happen, I’d be glad to take them and pass them along to duals tournament hosts. I don’t know how you get around this, honestly.

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

