Buccaneers Chip In Schedule #17

First Coast becomes another Gateway Conference team to come in this week, with the total list of teams moving up to 17 now as we head into what looks like it will be a quieter Labor Day weekend.

The Buccaneers will be in seven larger events, five of those repeats from a year ago. First Coast will be at Bishop Snyder on both of the first two weekends, first for North Florida Duals in Week 1 and then Westside Kiwanis in Week 2. They’ll also attend both sets of Army Duals at Parker, with those bookending the Gateway Conference IBT tournament in mid-January.

The two new events on FCHS’ schedule will see the Buccaneers travel north to Yulee, twice, first for the Hornets’ dual tournament on December 7, and then back again for the Battle on the Border event (not sure if that will be IBT as it was a year ago, or will be round-robin, or will also be duals — but whatever format it’s in, it’s got my attention).

First Coast will host Robert E. Lee in a single dual on December 14, and will be at Fletcher’s quad meet in Neptune Beach on January 11. The Buccaneers will travel to Ed White on February 1 and, if the school has a team, is scheduled to host Andrew Jackson on February 8 (I know Coach Warren is trying to move one forward as of the spring, but haven’t heard more since the spring).

So that’s 17. I’ll be around this weekend, hopefully a football game to cover on Saturday and definitely one Monday. Why not send me a schedule and have me break my weekend of leisure? I’ll take more. I’ll definitely take YOURS.

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

