Sometimes Now Is The Right Time

I’ve occasionally been coy about new things we are going to roll out. Sometimes just because I just want it to be a surprise when we actually do it. I know a lot of coaches and fans have expectations built up by media, only to have them fall by a lack of will or effort or time or resources.

I have not, at least not intentionally, done that so far, but I have delayed announcements of things in the past because I want them to be a surprise. Underpromise, overdeliver. I take Montgomery Scott’s approach on this sort of thing.

In 2013, we built this website. Two years later, in fact barely a year ago, we built Northwest Florida Matmen to cover the northern Gulf side and the Tallahassee region.

Also last year, we partnered with the Florida Times-Union to get more duals and tournament results published there, and we also created a weekly top-5 ranking for that publication.

This year, that partnership is continuing, and we’re adding a new one. We’re partnering with Brant Parsons and the Orlando Sentinel to get north Florida results published on their platforms, and Orlando results will be posted here on a separate tab on the main page from the local results. This should include IBT and roundrobin brackets/full results as well as duals. Also, results from the other side of the Matmen coverage area will be posted on that same page, so there will not necessarily be a need to go over to the other site (if I had the technological capability to create just one North Florida Matmen site and have everybody under one umbrella, I would do that — anyone that has said capability, please get with me).

There’s more. We will be going on Trackwrestling and copying/pasting results that are posted there, no matter where they were wrestled in Florida. Those will also go on those pages. I will be doing this for both duals and for brackets. It will take (some) time, but everything posted on Trackwrestling will also be here.

I know there are many fans throughout the state that read this page. What I wanted to create, four seasons ago, was a one-stop site for wrestling information. Fans from Jacksonville, Orlando, Tampa and Miami — and all points in between — could come to one site and see as much of everything that could be jammed into one site. Dual results. Bracket results. FHSAA results (we already have those, with full brackets for every single district in all three classes going back two years, plus a few years before that with summary results).

If you’re a coach outside the Matmen story coverage area (the coverage area is the entirety of Region 1 for both 1A and 2A, plus District 1 in 3A and District 5 in 1A), I still want your results. Speaking (if I may) for Brant, WE still want your results. Details will follow, as the season gets closer, on where you should send them.

Some might be wondering: well, what’s the point of going to both places? There will be some key differences between what the Sentinel does and what we do. The Sentinel will have stories on its area, and I will have stories on the north. Brant will focus on some things that I can not, and vice versa. So there will still be reasons for fans to go to both sites, without taking traffic from either. But both sites will benefit tremendously from being much more complete when it comes to information for you, the readers, without whom neither of us can do what we do.

I said earlier I like surprises. We (hopefully) still have one coming that we can reveal just before the season begins. If you’re curious on what it will be, well, you’ll just have to wait on that. Sorry, but how else can I maintain my reputation as a miracle worker?

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

