Some Notes While 6-10 Percolate In Matman’s Noggin…

OK, so you’ve seen me tinker around with the site a little bit. Not sure that WordPress allows me to do what I want with it (I still don’t know what a widget is in the capacity of web design or how it might help me), but it’s a start.

Just a couple of notes on Preview Eve for you to look at while you’re traveling today…

  • I texted Montavis Mack at Atlantic Coast, Shane Carpenter at Rickards (Creekside people, if you still are in contact with him, please join my reach-out effort) and Facebook messaged Devin Paulk at Bradford about the final 3 schedules. We REALLY want 100% participation. Like old results, I’ll take them whenever I get them, but the site is diminished without their schedules.
  • I got a call from Ricky Hicks at Lee last night. The feeling (not completely official yet) from him is that the Generals are going to withdraw from the Capital City Classic and that the Backyard Bash format is going to change and be a one-day duals event for the teams already committed. If you have an open date and want in, you better get to him quick (email him at heartstart51@yahoo.com). Coaches can email me for his cell number, if they don’t already have it. This is due to Lee’s deep run in the football playoffs.
  • Don’t forget, for those teams with me in 2013-14 (except Suwannee), the Florida Times-Union preview will be published either Sunday or Monday.
  • I also heartily endorse and recommend that you check out Brant Parsons’ previews in the Orlando Sentinel, both in print and online. Like their Facebook page at Orlando Sentinel Varsity – Wrestling, and follow Brant on Twitter at @OSWrestle and @brantparsons (I warn you up front, his politics are very similar to mine). He has done a fantastic job — far outstripping my own effort (which only wants me to be in position to just do this full-time for you all so I can match it) — on his previews and they’re going to be on a new platform that should make the whole look of it tremendous. He also, with our significant assist, has THE most complete schedule of wrestling in Florida that is found. More than mine. Way more than TFWR’s. Together, we’re going to bring our readerships more results into one space than Florida has ever seen before.
I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

