Writing Sunday

Nothing from Matmen tonight…unless it’s very easy.

If you were at Yulee today, you hopefully understand. If not…well, if you were at Ridgeview, I think you would understand as well.

Today’s tournament officially marks my last tournament where I “pitch in and help.” When I am having to work a tournament and take 100 questions from parents who could be helping, or get yelled at by both a wrestler and parent (that’s the first and last time, and the program in question — which the wrestler (somewhat understandably) and parent (far less understandably) apparently forgot that they represent — has things they need to do to make up for this now, or get asked about team scores when I haven’t even gotten my car started on my way to go home, I have to retire from volunteering.

Folks, I am wrestling media. I should not be taking questions from parents.about things it is assumed I should know just because I happen to be sitting at the head table, trying to keep the event moving on behalf of your kids. We had one parent outside of Yulee ones — most if not all of whom had Yulee shirts on and COULD answer questions. (MASSIVE kudos goes out to Mr. Bakkar at Bishop Kenny, who DID pitch in and help when no one else did).

When football reporters go to a game, they are not asked to also run the chain gang. When soccer reporters cover a match, they aren’t asked to be a linesman as well.

I have no issues with the Yulee folks, because they were trying to hold it all together with an event that had multiple teams show up that weren’t anticipated, multiple situations that weren’t anticipated. But I have to hang it up as a volunteer going forward.

Or the site is going to hang it up. Simple as that. I have to start setting boundaries on what I am willing to do and not do, what I am willing to tolerate and not tolerate.

I have questions, still, for Coach Crowder that I need him to answer for me…when he has time, assuming he has even left Yulee High yet.

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Writing Sunday
  1. Mike LePorin says:

    I for one hope you keep writing. I have a senior wrestler in the Tallahassee area and I enjoy keeping up with everything. It’s been a blessing having you report, and while I’m not sure what happened today, I hope you continue to find joy in the battle, not the bullshit.

    • Thanks. The flak continues to come in behind the scenes. If readers were required to pay me $60 per year, I would understand it, but no Matmen reader has ever been required to pay a dime for the thousands of hours per year I have provided.

Leave a Reply

