Rob Bierbaum Invitational Recap

Northeast Florida Matmen staff report

JACKSONVILLE — The eight teams — all Floridian, seven of them local — chasing South Carolina state power Battery Creek at Saturday’s Rob Bierbaum Invitational IBT event, hosted by Episcopal, had trouble finding an answer for the Palmetto State team.

Battery Creek claimed eight brackets and had 11 placers to win the tournament by nearly 60 points over its nearest rival, Orange Park, 261-201.5. The Raiders did place 11 wrestlers of their own, with one champion and five runners-up.

Mandarin was third with 138 points, with one champion and nine placers. Nease had the second-most champions — three — with six total placers and 122 points for fourth, while Bolles was fifth at 101.5 points, with one champion and five placers.

Victory Christian was sixth, with 78 points, followed by Pedro Menendez (62, three placers), the host Eagles (48, three placers) and Robert E. Lee (47, two).

Below follows a brief summary of each weight class:

106: Bolles freshman Josh Bono had a fall in the semis and was able to hold off Orange Park freshman Cameron Broughton, 9-8, in the title match. Broughton also won by fall in the semis. Mandarin’s Mitchell Conover had a pin to place third.

113: Nease sophomore Sean Arnold pinned his way through the bracket, with a fall in the semis and again in the final over Menendez sophomore Robert Iglesias. Iglesias had a decision and major to reach the final.

120: Nease freshman Gannon Janssen made it back-to-back brackets for the St Johns Panthers, with two falls and then a 4-2 win over Mandarin senior Chase Mattox for the title. Mattox had a fall and decision to get to the final. Orange Park’s Dean Ganci majored Bolles’ Dalton Posick 17-7 for third.

126: Mandarin sophomore and first-year starter Gunner Stier won by medical forfeit in the semis and then held off Episcopal’s Reid Hampton, who’d had two falls earlier, for an 8-6 win in the final. Nease’s Tyler Saam pinned Orange Park’s Nic Thompson for third.

132: Nease sophomore Jacob Satterfield pinned his way through the draw, with three falls for the Panthers’ third title, pinning Battery Creek’s Raymond Dauis in the championship match. Orange Park’s Richard Cuiksa avenged a first-round loss in the third-place match, pinning Mandarin’s Julian Trerotola.

138: Battery Creek got its run of titles cranked up, with Omar Daniels taking two pins, the second coming against Lee’s Darius Wells, who’d won by fall twice himself to get to the final. Orange Park’s Dashner St. Vilus teched Menendez’s Collin Tanner, 16-0, for third.

145: Kayleb Jones made it two in a row for Battery Creek, with two pins and then a 10-6 decision in the final over Orange Park’s Jacob Campbell, who had three pins to get there. Trenton Schmermund of Menendez pinned Mandarin’s Noah Colbert-Santana to take third.

152: Battery Creek picked up its third title, as Liam Payne had two pins and two decisions, the last a 2-1 win in the final over Bolles’ KJ Fagan, who had had a fall and tech previously. Mandarin’s Adam Spikes, who’d lost 4-0 to Payne in the semis, finished fourth.

160: Marcel Porackey made it four in a row for Battery Creek, pinning his way through the bracket, with a fall over Bolles’ Caleb Calhoun — who’d pinned his way to the final — in the title match. Orange Park’s Nathaniel Guthrie took fourth after winning three prior matches to get on the medal stand.

170: Orange Park senior Nartorian Lee broke the string of Battery Creek titles, with two pins and two majors, winning 16-3 in the final over BC’s Turhan White. The hosts’ Christian Rickey, who’d lost to White in the semis, came back to take fourth place.

182: Battery Creek closed out the final four weights with titles, with Ahman Smalls picking up the first on two falls, pinning Robert E. Lee’s Christopher Telusma — who had a fall in the semi — for the championship. Mandarin’s Gavin Miles downed Nease’s Jarrod Case, 6-4, for third.

195: BC’s Khalil Chisolm pinned his way through, falling Orange Park’s Ben Elliot for the bracket win. Elliot had a fall and decision to get to the final. Episcopal’s Freddie Dollison, who lost to Chisolm in the semis, had a fall in the third-place match to take that spot.

220: Cooper Kaminsky of Battery Creek also pinned his way through, with three falls — the last coming over Orange Park’s Tyler Dehart, who’d had two pins to reach the final. Bolles’ Mason Yost avenged a first-round loss in the third-place match, decisioning Mandarin’s Andrew Hudgins 9-5.

285: BC’s Michael Selby closed out his team’s run of upperweight dominance, with two falls and a 5-4 decision over Orange Park’s Shaun Bizzell. Bizzell had two pins to get to the title match. Nease’s Jonathan Walter decisioned Mandarin’s Kyle Redding, 4-1, for third.

Complete brackets will be posted to the Local IBTs page on Monday.


I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: