#RoadToTheShow: 2A-District 2 Recap


Lincoln wrestlers and coaches celebrate their eighth consecutive district title Friday night in the Trojans’ gym (Photo submitted by Mike Crowder).

Northeast Florida Matmen

TALLAHASSEE — When Lincoln won seven district championships in a row from 2001-07, that was saying something.

Now, the Trojans have a little bit more to say.

Lincoln dominated Friday night’s 2A-District 2 tournament at home, winning seven individual titles, qualifying all 14 of its wrestlers for next week’s Region 1 meet at Chiles, and nearly doubling up the point total of their crosstown rivals, the Timberwolves, 246.5-132.5.

“This has surpassed that (run). It’s been a great run,” Lincoln coach Mike Crowder said via email Friday evening. “The boys really rose to the occasion. It’s hard to get up for the district when it’s the norm, but they showed today that they have next week in focus.”

Chiles had 11 qualifiers in the tournament, one more than third-place Columbia, and that allowed the Timberwolves to keep the Tigers at bay, as Columbia finished with 125.5 points.

Gainesville was fourth with 87.5 points and nine region qualifiers, while Leon was fifth at 77, with six qualifiers.

Here’s a rundown of each individual weight class:

106: Lincoln sophomore Mark Munroe, the top seed, got the winning feeling started, wrestling one match for the title in a 3-person bracket, decisioning Gainesville junior Nathan Fox by a 10-5 score. Chiles freshman Ethan Dhanarajan, who lost by fall (1:01) in the semis to Fox, had a walkover to third place.

113: Lincoln sophomore second seed Ikeon Myles made it back-to-back behind two decisions, downing Columbia freshman Martin Lee 6-3 in the semis and 8-3 over the top seed, Gainesville sophomore Scotty Tacinelli in the finals. Lee got a walkover in the third-place match of the 3-man bracket.

120: The Trojans made it a three-peat right at the start, as Lincoln top-seeded junior Michael Crowder had two falls, both in the first minute, for his title. Crowder pinned Gainesville freshman Nicholas Hanson in 18 seconds in the semi and Chiles junior Austin Hall in 43 seconds in the final. Columbia freshman Ian McGuigan, who lost by fall in 5 minutes to Hall in the semis, came back to take third with a fall in 1:40 over Hanson.

126: Top-seeded Columbia junior Chace Curtis, a 2016 state champion, won the title with just one match in a three-person bracket, falling Lincoln senior Tyree Young in 3:35 for the victory. Gainesville senior Elijah Keselowsky, who lost by fall (1:34) in the semis to Young, had a walkover in the third-place match.

132: In the first bracket that had a full complement of wrestlers, second-seeded senior Logan Mellor of Chiles had two first-period pins in taking the title, both at 1:03, against Lincoln sophomore Braxton Winder in the semis and then in the final over Columbia sophomore Matt Ross. Winder would come back to take third, pinning Leon’s Madison Melton in the consi semis (1:48) and then Gainesville junior Dishant Rami in the third-place match (1:20).

138: Top-seeded Columbia junior Daniel Mann picked up two wins in another full bracket, falling Leon junior Chris Crago in 1:05 in the semis and then turning back Chiles senior Andrew Tychsen, 7-4, for the championship. Lincoln sophomore Elliott Crum, who lost by fall (1:21) to Tychsen in the semis, responded with a pair of pins, first over Gainesville’s Josh Cohn (1:32) in the consi semis and then Crago (1:43) for third place.

145: Chiles top-seeded junior Austin Nolan won twice for his bracket, winning by injury default over Leon freshman Ethan Eudy in the semis, then pinning Lincoln junior Anderson Stennett in 1:01 in the final. Columbia sophomore Matthew Arango, who’d lost in the semis to Stennett (fall in 3:47), got a medical forfeit over Eudy to take third.

152: Lincoln top-seed senior Jeremy Burke picked up two pins to take the title, falling Columbia junior Mitchell Gregory in 3 minutes in the semis, then winning the bracket with a 32-second pin over Leon sophomore Jaquenez Madison. Gregory came back for third, pinning Chiles senior Miles Mercer — who’d lost 12-11 to Madison in the semis — in 58 seconds.

160: Justin Grant made it back-to-back for the Trojans, as the top-seeded junior won by injury-default over Chiles sophomore DJ Candelaria, then pinned Gainesville junior Corey Ryan in 1:04 for the title to stay unbeaten on the season (42-0). Columbia freshman Preston O’Quinn, who’d lost by fall (1:34) in the semis to Ryan, came back for third with a medical forfeit over Candelaria.

170: In another full bracket, Chiles senior top seed Justin Lopeman had two wins for first place, falling Gainesville junior Justin Harbilas in 1:19 in the semi, then shutting out Lincoln junior Jared Newhall, 3-0, for the win. Columbia sophomore Chad Sapp, who lost by fall (2:12) in the semis to Newhall, had two pins to take third, falling Leon’s Mason Judd in 3 minutes and then Harbilas in 2:13 in the third-place match.

182: Top-seeded Leon junior Jonathan “JT” Grant had two first-period falls, 29 seconds in the semi over Gainesville sophomore Bronson Carter, then 1:20 in the final over Lincoln junior Gus Altenburg. Columbia’s David Thompson, who lost 10-4 to Altenburg in the semis, took third with a fall in 3:35 over Carter.

195: Top-seeded Leon senior Henry Segura stayed unbeaten on the season (34-0), needing just one win in a 3-man bracket for the title, pinning Lincoln freshman Tanner Washburn in 1:59. Chiles junior Thomas Blake, who lost by fall (3 minutes) in the semis to Washburn, received a walkover in the third-place match.

220: In a two-man bracket, Lincoln senior top seed Josh Martin outlasted Chiles senior Bobby Williams, 3-1, in the only match wrestled in the weight class.

285: Lincoln senior top seed Thomas Moss gave the Trojans their third back-to-back set of titles with two first-period pins, falling Leon freshman Hudson Holland in 1:30 in the semi and then Gainesville junior Donnie Wilburn in 1:28 for the championship. Holland came back for third, decisioning Chiles sophomore Nick Schindler — who’d lost by fall (:15) in the semis to Wilburn — by a 5-2 score.


I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: