Final Thoughts, The Season

We have recapped the seasons of 70 Florida wrestling teams in rolling these posts out. That’s around 20% of the entire state. No one else in Florida does this. I would like you to keep that in mind if you’re not happy with the way your team was recapped.

But that being said, that doesn’t mean that The Season recaps can’t be made better going forward. I had a couple of questions that cropped up during the rollout that I thought I should take a moment or two to address:

Why do we do them? Well, the post-season time tends to be about the biggest stars and the best teams. A lot more is going on besides what the aces are doing. I want to make sure every team is recognized, in some small way, for their season-long effort. This sport isn’t easy, and I’m just required (my son would quibble with me over this word) to watch. I think anyone who steps out there and puts himself or herself on the line ought to be celebrated.

What about the seniors, and why aren’t they mentioned? This is a good point, and to answer that I can only really go back to my original thoughts for starting these. In 2014, it seemed to me that most people in the community didn’t have too much of an idea about who was coming back next year for the teams that their kids were facing. So I thought I would rectify that by preparing a scouting report of sorts, noting all of the kids who were likeliest to make impacts in the coming year. By that logic, the seniors would have moved on. But at the same time, it really isn’t just a scouting report: it’s an end-of-season recap. I think for the 2017-18 year, I’ll include another paragraph that lists the seniors in a similar fashion as the returners. But (as I’ll note in the next paragraph) there will be some limits on that.

How do you decide who is a “returning starter” and who is not? This is another good question. There are a few teams who had pretty defined starters. More often, teams had some platoon situations, and some teams had a lot of injury issues. Lines have to be drawn somewhere. If you wrestled in the post-season, and have eligibility to return, that seemed obvious to me. But it occurred to me that kids could have made significant impacts on a team during that year and not wrestled in the post-season. So where to draw the line? 30 matches seemed pretty high. 5 or fewer seemed pretty low. I’ve set the line at 15 matches in the past, but have revised it to 10 or more in the past couple of seasons. Even kids who were starters in the past, and would have been starters were it not for season-long recovery from surgery or other reasons, still have to have met a 10-match threshold. Again, it’s about where to draw the line for the hundreds of kids, if not thousands, that make up the entirety of the coverage area. Otherwise, I would need to mention everyone that made an appearance, even one time. This will be the case for seniors, next year, as well.

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in 2011. But as I thought I had in 1992, I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. New initiative this year is to create a space on my sites where ALL Florida results can be stored, searched, reviewed and used by my readers, with NO COST TO THEM.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

