Seminole Wrestling Classic Recap

North Florida Matmen staff report

TALLAHASSEE — Ten north Florida teams — more concentrated in the central and west regions of the north — congregated at Florida State University School for its annual Seminole Wrestling Classic on Saturday.

No team scores were kept, but champions were crowned in 20 weight classes. Here’s a little bit on their day:

70 — Niceville’s Cash Tharp won the weight class with a 3-1 record on two pins and a decision, as two other wrestlers (Riversprings’ Matthew Thaxton and Florida High’s Taylor Jones) were also both 3-1. Jones beat Tharp, 10-6, Thaxton beat Jones 9-6 and Tharp beat Thaxton, 8-4. But Tharp’s other two wins were by fall, while Jones and Thaxton each had one pin and one major, thus Tharp won by most points scored.

75 — North Bay Hvaen’s Derrick Williams was 4-0 with two pins, a tech and major; his fall over Riversprings’ Troy Thaxton in round 4 was the title-clinching victory.

80 — Riversprings’ Connor Brown was 4-0 with two pins, a forfeit and major, with a round-4 fall over Niceville’s Sal Ricchio effectively clinching the title.

85 — Wakulla Middle’s Caleb Orr had three pins to take Pool A, then majored Battle’s Toby Trumbower, the Pool B winner (pin & decision prior to final), by a 9-1 count for the bracket victory.

90 — Riversprings’ Nate Jacobs was 2-0 (2 pins) to win Pool A, then majored Pool B winner Grady Randolf of Niceville (major & pin prior to final), 16-2, for the championship.

95 — Battle’s Garrett Marschka had two pins and a 7-2 decision over Suwannee runnerup Austin McKinney to win the round-robin.

100 — Niceville’s Ethan Pinto pinned his way through Pool A (3 falls), then held off Suwannee’s Body Boehm, the Pool B winner (major/fft/pin), 6-3, in the finals.

106A — Niceville’s Andrew Randolph won Pool B with a pin and 3-2 overtime decision, then falled Pool A champ Bradley Martin of Riversprings (decision & major prior to final) for the title.

106B — Niceville’s Jason Stitt made it back-to-back-to-back for the fledgling Eagles, with two pins and a 13-2 major over runnerup Alex Cortese of Lake City for the weight-class win.

113 — Riversprings’ Jae-T Thaxton won Pool A with two pins, then decisioned Pool B winner Cameron Wilder of Suwannee (2 pins), 7-1, in the crossover final match.

120 — Riversprings’ Max Harvey pinned his way through both Pool A (2 pins) and the crossover final against Pool B winner Ayden Kirby of Suwannee (major/pin/decision prior to final).

126 — Florida High’s Dean Wright, whom we’ve seen in the varsity lineup in both 2017-18 and this year, won Pool B with a major and pin, then held off Lake City’s Cooper Mote, the Pool A winner (2 pins), 10-9, in the championship match.

132 — Florida High’s Maurice Adams had a 7-1 decision over runnerup Kohl Pippin of Riversprings, going on to add two pins and win the weight class.

138 — Suwannee’s Austin Howard bonus-pointed his way to the weight-class win, with a round 1 14-6 major over Lake City runnerup Wilson Philemon, with a tech and pin later to win the title.

145 — In an all-Lake City final, Pool B winner Auvontae Smith (3 pins) added a 15-3 major over Pool A winner Nick Wilkerson (major & pin prior to final) to win the title.

152 — Lake City’s Jordan Jones won Pool B with a pin and decision, then collected a second pin in the crossover final against Pool A winner Collin Bishop (2 decisions prior to final) of Florida High.

170 — Lake City’s Mal’Que Macon pinned his way through the bracket, with two falls to win Pool B, and a third fall in the crossover final over Pool A winner Taj Ellington of Riversprings.

182 — Riversprings’ Todd Williams also pinned his way through the bracket, with 3 pins to win Pool A and a fourth pin in the crossover final against Lake City’s Noah Moreland, the Pool B winner (3 pins prior to final).

220 — Florida High’s Brody Williams pinned Washington’s Payton Hall in a two-person bracket for the championship.

285 — Riversprings’ Anthony Graziano had a pin and forfeit to win Pool A, then picked up a second pin in the crossover final against Niceville’s Aiden Taylor (pin and forfeit to win Pool B).

Complete brackets can be found here: SEMINOLE WRESTLING CLASSIC

Learn more about south Georgia’s scene! Check out our affiliated site at

Please support our independent journalism by going here and donating to our websites:

I covered wrestling for 15 years up north and "retired" in both 1992 and again in 2011. But I couldn't stay away. Started Northeast Florida Matmen in 2013, Northwest Florida Matmen in 2015. We combined those sites into North Florida Matmen in the summer of 2018. And, we've started South Georgia Matmen in November of 2018. Our work is never paywalled, our content is searchable for all time. We're here because the kids keep lacing 'em up, so we'll keep writing 'em up.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Seminole Wrestling Classic Recap
  1. Stacey says:

    Your Conference Recap from last week is inaccurate. DaQuan King 106 from Rains did not pin Nathan Bremer from Mandarin. After an almost 8 min dual, DaQuan and Nathan exceeded time and it was a points match. 11-12. DaQuan took 1st for the 106s and Nathan with only the single points loss to Rains took 3rd. No one wants to be pinned but worse would be an article mistakenly posting of such the event. Sorry Mandarin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: